What It’s Actually Like to Homeschool.

Thank you to my wonderful friend, Josie, for giving me the idea for this post!


I, being homeschooled my entire life, know a lot about what it’s like to be homeschooled. People think that homeschoolers are un-socialized, but we really aren’t. I used to have a ton of friends before I moved out of Louisiana. And, that was because I was in dance classes for eight years and grew up with a lot of my classmates.

I only remember one time in my life where I didn’t have at least one friend. That was when we moved from Louisiana to Colorado. But, I befriended a neighbor soon after. Even though I’m a very shy person around people I don’t know, I used to make friends very easily. Not all homeschoolers are anti-social.

The greatest thing about being homeschooled, is that you don’t have to have a schedule. I do my school sometimes in the morning, sometimes later after dinner. That’s great, because if you have an event in the afternoon, you can just work around it. Plus, if I don’t feel like actually being productive, I can always wait until the very last moment to finish it.

One of my favorite things about being homeschooled, is that you get more one-on-one attention from your teacher (aka, my mom). If I don’t understand something, my mom can easily come over to where I’m working and explain it to me further. Plus, I don’t feel as uncomfortable when I’m the last person to finish their work since I’m only surrounded by the people who live with me.

Oh, you want to go to the park? You’ll have the park to yourself. You want go to the library? It’ll be practically empty. That’s why homeschooling is great! You won’t usually run into crows if you leave the house during the day. Which is great for me, since I’m not one to usually enter a crowd. I love small groups since they aren’t as hectic or loud as huge crowds.

Homeschooling also consists of a lot of hands-on activities, such as science experiments. Which is great for me, since I learn best that way. Except when it comes to reading; I love reading.

I feel like homeschooling has helped me a lot with my struggles with Executive Dysfunction, which is a learning disability. The disability isn’t that complicated; it just means that it takes a little longer for me to understand things that might come easy for other people. Like math; I can’t remember simple math like my times tables. That’s also probably because math is the worst subject and no one can tell me otherwise. It’s like brain-torture… But worse.

I’m great at Language Arts. I think that’s because it’s easier for me to piece together things when it’s in a story, rather than random information thrown at you from a History textbook. Language Arts is one of my favorite subjects, just because I get to read a lot. You have no idea how many books I have on my “To Read” list right now. In case you were wondering how many: a lot. I’d count, but I have better things to do. Like, actually finish writing this post that I’ve been working on for far too long.

Homeschooling has helped me with the learning disability since I can have someone show me how to do the problem or how to figure it out in a much detailed, explained way. Teachers in school, on the other hand, only have so much time to teach you a subject before the class time runs out. So, homeschooling is better for longer, more detailed explanations.

In all of my years of being homeschooled, I haven’t found something that I didn’t like about it. It’s flexible, great for lazy people who don’t want to get dressed or wake up early, and is sometimes fun.Β Sometimes. Not all the time. Sometimes it can be a total disaster and no one knows what my mom is talking about, or even if she’s actually speaking English. But it all usually works out.


No Wattpad update this week.


Comment below some of your favorite things about homeschooling if you’ve done it before, or ever taught it! I want some feedback!


QOTD: Have you ever tried homeschooling before? Did you like it? Would you ever consider it if you never have?

7 thoughts on “What It’s Actually Like to Homeschool.

  1. I am currently home schooled, and I LOVE IT! There is just so much more flexibility, and I feel you have much more time to do stuff too. Plus, you have more control over your schedule. I do more social stuff now than I did in public or private school.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love homeschooling and I agree with you in every way. Especially about not having to get dressed, and about our moms sometimes not speaking English. We all get a little fried sometimes. πŸ˜€ Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

