Should you buy The Sims 4? Pros & Cons | Video Games

Yay! I’m finally posting!

Oh my gosh, I’ve been horrible about posting lately. I know it’s been a while, but I still have writer’s block. Luckily, I have something for you guys today. It’s a bit different from what I normally post, but I hope to make this topic have a regular appearance on my blog.

I recently finally bought The Sims 4, despite hearing a lot of negative things about it. But I figured since I loved The Sims 3 so much, that I’d love this one too. And sure enough, I love it! There are so many more positive things than negative things about this game, and I’d highly recommend it.

I also just bought the City Living expansion pack, and it’s pretty fun! There are festivals and apartments (including penthouses)! It’s the first expansion pack I bought for Sims 4, and I think it was worth it. Plus, I bought it half off on Origin, so that’s pretty cool.

Here’s a list of pros and cons!

Pros

  • Toddlers were just introduced and there are tons of new interactions between toddlers and adults, teens, and children
  • Toddlers have special skills (potty training, imagination, motor skills, thinking, talking [the better at talking they are, the better wording their interactions have towards other sims]) that when good at, will contribute to their skills when they age up to a child
  • Sims can eat and drink at the same time now (you must grab the drink first, then the food) and you can tell them where to sit while eating, as long as there isn’t anything else on their queue
  • Sims get out of bed a lot faster than before, and they make their bed immediately after getting up; they never leave it unmade
  • There are new traits for every sim, and each trait unlocks new interactions
  • Ambitions are changed each time a sim ages up, but stops changing once they reach young adult (babies can’t have ambitions)
  • Building a house is so much easier now with the new option to completely pick up and move rooms and resize them
  • The game runs a lot smoother than Sims 3 and takes a lot less time to launch the game and save
  • Toddlers can be picked up from behind, so there’s no more walking around to try to face each other in tight areas
  • Sims can have group conversations very easily, and can talk while doing other things (eating, watching tv, using the computer, swimming, ect.) and you can choose what they talk about
  • There are a lot of different social event options (birthday party, wedding party, houseparty, costume party*, black and white party [may be part of the Digital Deluxe version], ect.)
  • Sims have more facial expressions
  • They have emotions, which is pretty cool
  • There are a few new job options (writer, tech guru, ect.)
  • Pregnancies only last four days
  • Pregnant sims don’t change into ugly maternity clothes, and they stay in their normal clothes
  • If you don’t buy a baby bassinet, one is given to you automatically either when you come home from the hospital, or once you give birth at home (sometimes I don’t buy one just to save money, because later on once the baby ages up, you can sell it)
  • If your sims choose to adopt, you can look through a list of different babies and children to adopt
  • There are many cute clothing options (including an option to look at styled outfits and try them on if you’re not sure what your sims should wear)
  • It’s really easy to edit your town

Cons

  • Toddlers can ask a parent to take them out of highchairs without giving the parents enough time to give the toddler food. Immediately after the toddler asks, the parent prioritizes it, taking the toddler out of the highchair before doing anything else in their queue (this is the most annoying thing, and it actually makes me mad because the parent will take the toddler out when I’m trying to feed it)
  • The controls are slightly different, making it hard to play the game the first few times you play. But once you get used to it, it’s easy
  • Planning social events are easy, but there isn’t any option to plan a specific time to have the event
  • The map is fairly small and only has at least four town buildings, and the rest of the space is used for housing. This means that there isn’t very much to do outside of the house (which I’m fine with because I can’t ever find the time to make my sims leave the house)
  • No cars or bikes
  • If one sim leaves the house, you can’t zoom back to your house and care for your other sims, without leaving behind the sim that left
  • The design tool no longer lets you completely edit objects like in Sims 3. You can only edit an object with the colors and designs that are there in the store already
  • Sims can no longer have part-time jobs (grocery store, bookstore, ect.)
  • Adoption costs §1,000
  • You will get addicted once you start playing

*only available with the Digital Deluxe version


Yes, there are a lot of cons, but there are also a lot of pros which make up for the bad things. If you have anything to add to this list, comment below! I’d love to hear your thoughts!

The cons don’t bother me too much (except for that first one, ugh), so it was definitely worth it to get the game. Especially because it runs so much faster.


If you have anything to add to this list, comment below! I’d be glad to add your additions to the list!

What else should I blog about? Comment below!

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Should you buy The Sims 4? Pros & Cons | Video Games

      • Yeah I’ve been considering it. With Horizon and Zelda being released soon, I imagine I’ll have to give myself a month or two before I find the time to jump back into The Sims 4 though 😛

        That said, do you share your writing on any other sites? I work over at Creators .Co (we’re part of Movie Pilot and Now Loading) and this is the sort of content that makes for an interesting read. Would you be open to the idea of crossposting your work on our Creators fansite? I’d be more than happy to help you get started. My e-mail and more info about us can be found on my page. (o^.^)b

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

