Rainbow Sugar Cookie Recipe | Cooking Corner

Hey, guys! I know it’s late, but I completely forgot that I had this post all typed out and ready to be posted. So, here you go!

I came across this recipe while searching through the internet one day, because I really wanted to make something that required food coloring. I hadn’t used food coloring before for baking, and I wanted to test it out and mess around with it. These cookies were really good! I highly recommend them! I brought them to a homeschool meetup and they were a hit!


Instructions


1 ¹/₂ cups of powdered sugar
1 cup of softened butter
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
¹/₂ teaspoon of almond extract
1 egg
2 ¹/₂ cups of all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of cream of tartar
Food coloring


Ingredients


1. Mix powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, almond extract, and egg in a large bowl.
2. Stir in baking soda, cream of tartar, and flour (slowly!).
3. Heat oven to 375°F.
4. Divide dough into however many colors of cookies you want. I usually do 4, so I divide the dough into 4 parts and put it in bowls (paper bowls are easier).
4. Add different colors of food coloring into each bowl of dough.
5. Knead the dyes into the dough (don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty!)
6. Scoop out teaspoonfuls of dough and place on a cookie sheet (I use a baking stone).
7. Bake for 7 to 8 minutes or until the edges are light brown.
8. Cool on an wire rack.
9. Frost cookies with homemade or store bought buttercream frosting.
10. You can add sprinkles for some extra fun!
11. Enjoy!


If you bake these cookies, tell me if you liked them! Got any tips? Let me know! Thanks for reading!


Sources:
Original website
Additional website from the original

Leave a Reply

